Doylestown Auto Repair

Audi Will Be the Only Manufacturer with 3 DTM Team

Audi Will Be the Only Manufacturer with 3 DTM Team

Although the 2017 German touring car series, DTM, is still months away, Audi has officially announced its teams and drivers. Fielding six RS 5 DTMs, Audi will be the only manufacturer with three teams.

The teams are ABT Sportsline, Team Phoenix, and Team Rosberg and the cars will be raced by a combination of experienced and young drivers.

Veteran Mattias Ekstrom will drive alongside the young Nico Muller for Team Abt Sportsline. This will be Ekstrom’s 16th season in DTM, but only Muller’s first full season in the series. Despite that, Muller has won a race in DTM  before.

Former Le Mans winner, Loic Duval, meanwhile, will be joined by Mike Rockenfeller for Team Phoenix.

“Rocky [Rockenfeller] produced his masterpiece in the DTM with Phoenix in 2013 and together with him we’re aiming to return to the top,” said Ernst Moser, Director of Team Phoenix. “I know Loïc (Duval) from the Audi Sport winter camps. He’s been successful as a race driver in many categories. I’m hoping for the team to receive some fresh impetus from him and for him to be successful in the DTM as well.”

And finally Team Rosberg’s RS 5 DTMs will be driven by Rene Rast and Jamie Green.

“In Mattias Ekström at ABT, Jamie Green at Rosberg and Mike Rockenfeller at Phoenix, all three teams have their spearheads. These team-driver combinations were very powerful in the past. Our youngster, Nico Müller, is following in Edoardo Mortara’s footsteps and our two new DTM signings, Loïc Duval and René Rast, are going to benefit from the experience of their teammates,” says Dieter Gass, head of Audi Motorsport.

The post Audi Will Be the Only Manufacturer with 3 DTM Team appeared first on



February 9, 2017 at 03:28AM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *